Sign in with
Your question

Which raid to use?

Last response: in Storage
June 20, 2010 6:17:33 PM

This is my first build, and I've been reading a lot of info on raid, but I have no first hand experience with it.

It all seems a little too confusing to me, so I was wondering if someone could help me out a bit.
I'm mainly interested in increased "performance". I'll mainly be gaming on the computer, possibly set up a ventrilo server or maybe use the computer to host a cs:s or starcraft2 server sometime in the future.

So I guess I'm not really too concerned with losing data (what do I have to lose that I can't just reinstall?). So what raid configuration will offer the best read/write performance for me?

From what I've read, I'm not sure if raid 0 increases read times, everything about raid 0 seems to just focus on write times.
I'll be using the onboard raid; "P55 Chipset: support for RAID 0/1/5/10"
So I guess 0/1/5/10 are the options I have.

my system is:
46'' samsung tv for monitor
i5-750
GIGABYTE GA-P55-USB3
.5 gb/256 bit MSI 250GTS
cm692 cool master case // 700w psu // cpu cooler
4x 1333mhz 2gb ddr3 sticks

x4 500gb WD scorpio black hdds45

btw any recommendations on the system will be appreciated as well. I haven't even booted it up yet, still waiting on some sata cables in the mail.

More about : raid

a b G Storage
June 20, 2010 10:50:09 PM

Raid 0 should give you the best read/write times out of all the RAID levels. You could also just get an SSD and exceed that performance with a single disk.
m
l
June 21, 2010 12:36:00 AM

I figured 4 500gb hdds would be better than 1 ssd and a cheap 1tb hdd. I'd only be able to afford a small ssd that could fit the OS and maybe a program. With the raid array, I'd notice load times for all my programs, games, and the os. Right? And the 500gb wd blacks were on sale at new egg for $50 each shipped, which I thought was a pretty good deal.
m
l
Related resources
a c 99 G Storage
June 22, 2010 6:42:03 PM