Help build a new rig with a tight budget :)

Hi,

I am building a new desktop for myself. I will be using the new rig mainly for gaming and encoding.

*note that I am rather new to this system building thingy :)

I am not a hardcore gamer, but would at least like for the system to be able to run current and future games at 1440x900 resolutions with medium settings, at a decent fps.

I also do some encoding based around h.264, and so a good encoding processor would be nice.

I've heard that current intel processors perform better than AMD ones, but I am open to suggestions.

I also plan on building my system around a 4870.

The budget I have is around 900-1000 USD.

Another thing of note is that I live in Malaysia (somewhere in asia lol), hence the bad engrish :??:
So, 2nd question:
Would the high temperatures and humidity around here make overclocking more difficult with stock cooling?

Thanks in advance oh forum sages!
6 answers Last reply
More about help build tight budget
  1. Since you quoted your budget in USD can we assume that you will be buying your parts in the US? If not then you may need to adjust the recommendations to fit your local prices.

$900-$1000 will buy a pretty nice system.

I'm going to assume that you already have a monitor since you mentioned your desired resolution and I'm going to assume that you have a copy of an OS to use.

The 4870 you mentioned is going to set you back around $230 if you get the 1GB version (recommended) so that leaves you with $670-$770 for everything else.

Case:

I'd browse through the different cases and pick one you like in the form factor you want. Most people tend to pick a mid-tower case and this form has the most model available. Personally I'd suggest something from Antec or Coolermaster as their cases are generally very high quality. Depending on the case you pick the price should range from $50-$100.

Power Supply: