8800GT Over Clocking

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Memory
  • Overclocking
  • Product
Last response: in Overclocking
May 31, 2010 3:56:13 AM

I have had my 8800GT since late 2007 and have done my own results on it's OC limits but I finally decided to read up a little on what other people say and I see them warning about OCing the memory clock.

Most of them say 950 mhz is fine but anything over 1000mhz will damage the card over a period of time.

Maybe I have got some special GPU but I have played for hours with a 1083 mhz memory clock and had no problems.

The max I can usually go for stability, on stock BFG cooler (different for certain games) is;

Core Clock; 725 mhz

Shader Clock; 1819 mhz

Memory Clock; 1083 mhz

Should I be careful with memory clock speed? I have been using this card for almost 3 years with no problems.
But I don't usually keep the high clock speed unless I am playing a game like Crysis or Metro 2033.

More about : 8800gt clocking

May 31, 2010 9:06:42 PM

I just got rid of same card , BFG cooler is awful if you get a bit of dust in it .
Fitted a Zalman VF900 only stuck the 6 heat sinks it came with on and run very very cool .
Comes with adjustable fan control unit .
Payed £10 from PC world of all places . End of line stock !
Got near your oc speeds but prefer a happy medium .
Card is still going strong , thinking of ebaying but might keep as back-up
m
l
June 2, 2010 6:11:45 AM

challenging said:
I just got rid of same card , BFG cooler is awful if you get a bit of dust in it .
Fitted a Zalman VF900 only stuck the 6 heat sinks it came with on and run very very cool .
Comes with adjustable fan control unit .
Payed £10 from PC world of all places . End of line stock !
Got near your oc speeds but prefer a happy medium .
Card is still going strong , thinking of ebaying but might keep as back-up