Assembling a system for Photo editing .Help needed,Please

vp9

Distinguished
Oct 14, 2006
Hi everyone,

i am a photographer and my current system - AMD 2 ghz with 4Gb(3gb) ram dosent cut it when it comes to batching and filter stuff.so i am considering a new computer and i´d appreciate if someone can help me select the main components .i´ll try to explain my needs as clearly as possible .

my main priority is Photoshop work and some video editing (from a compact camera and also from a soon to buy Dslr with movie function -but this is simply for fun and not important as photo editing)

the rest of the things am going to use this computer is, for usual office stuff and regular surfing and occational DVD viewing.i plan to get a Eizo S2431WH (incase if the graphic card selection should be based on the monito in use)

i dont play any PC games and dont plan to either,so i believe i can get away with a cheap and low power consuming graphic card.

i would be glad to get a configuration for one silent , most cost effective and most energy efficient system possible (running average 8 hours every day)

how can i make use of more than 4 gb (DDR2)of Ram ? ( incase i plan to use the 64 bit versions of windows XP and Photoshop -what will be the advantages other than being able to use more than 3 gig RAM?,and what all should i care about?driver availability ? compatibility?etc.
or is there any other way to make use of more than 3 gig RAM without getting the 64 bit version of win?, i use PS-CS2 and win XP 32 bit and wish to avoid Vista )

here are the links to the CPU and MoBo price listings (Germany - prices).

CPU Intel 775 - http://geizhals.at/deutschland/?cat=cpup7

MoBo - http://geizhals.at/deutschland/?cat=mbp4_775_ddr2

graphic card - http://geizhals.at/deutschland/?cat=gra16_512

thankyou verymuch and wish you all in advance a great year ahead :)

thanks again,
VM