Sign in with
Your question

BT Home-Hub "click" sound then DC

Last response: in Networking
May 29, 2009 2:02:45 PM

Hello, i've been using a BT Home-Hub for around 6 months now, never had any trouble with it, but recently when i stream videos it's been making a "click" sound then disconnecting, it works perfectly fine when downloading, online gaming etc - only disconnects when streaming videos.

The stream starts out fine, then at around 50% - 70% of the buffered video it clicks, cuts out and restarts itself, when it does restart it of course doesn't resume buffering the remaining 30% - 50% of the stream, leaving me only being able to watch partial videos.

To try to solve the problem i've reset to defaults, restarted manually on many occasions, and socketed the Broadband line downstairs instead of upstairs as it's wired not wireless, as i prefer wired.

I haven't contacted BT support yet, as i've heard horror stories and nothing good generally comes out of the £20 you spend on the phone to them so i thought posting here would be more reliable

I'm not exactly a PC mastermind but i can provide more information if needed

More about : home hub click sound

June 1, 2009 4:50:50 PM

Sounds like a power issue is causing the system to restart. That click you hear could be an internal circuit breaker popping.

Does the Hub restart if your are transferring a large file - say 2 gig or more?
June 3, 2009 3:50:05 PM

sturm said:
Sounds like a power issue is causing the system to restart. That click you hear could be an internal circuit breaker popping.

Does the Hub restart if your are transferring a large file - say 2 gig or more?

It does indeedy, somehting that i've only recently started noticing, as i don't download large/largeish things often, i was updating my Nvidia driver yesterday, 81mb file and it conked out at around 71% downloaded

The speed is perfectly fine, i'm getting around 8mb