Sign in with
Your question

GIGABYTE GA-MA790FXT-UD5P AM3 DDR3 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard

Last response: in Motherboards
May 12, 2009 2:58:00 AM

Hello,

Need help - I have been building rigs for 5 years but that doesn't mean I know what I am doing :) 

Here are my specs:

GIGABYTE GA-MA790FXT-UD5P AM3 DDR3 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor
EVGA 896-P3-1170-AR GeForce GTX 275 896MB 448-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready
8 GB OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
2 - Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EADS 1TB SATA 3.0Gb
2 - Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb
1 - Western Digital Caviar SE WD2500JS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb

I meticulously installed all parts - was able to boot and install Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate SP1 64-bit and do all the updates. Windows reconized all parts and saw the 8 GB of RAM and the EVGA video card. Did no OC'ing or RAID setup as I wanted to get all updates first.

In fact the machine was lightning fast and I was very happy so no OC'ing. I went to update the BIOS since it was only reading the AMD as 1.6 GHz and when I did that through the GIGABYTE update utility I got a BSOD and the PC shutdown. Okay I figured I would just reset the CMOS and it would boot.

But no boot - no beeps - when I power it on all lights come on, the fans spin, but when the video is hooked up to power it seems I get some sort of weakened power to all fans and I do not hear any activity from the hard drives. The fans speed up and than slow down.

When I disconnect power to the video card all fans work as they should and I can hear the hard drive spin and all other sounds that would make the board sound like it is trying to boot but since I disconnected the video I have no display.