Yet another computer virgin.

juss

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2008
As the title says, this is my first time building a PC.

I need Help!
First off I want to thank you for looking and reading my post.

The main purpose of this computer will be, of course, Gaming! Keeping in mind I'm an engineering student, so I need to run CAD programs with ease.

Now, I've been looking around the web for advice on what I should by, comparing prices/preference, yet I'm still a [strike]little[/strike] and good more than a little confused.
So let me tell you want I have so far:

For the case I have plans to purchase a Antec 900. This case has optimal airflow and is decently sized, and with a little tweaking, cable management will look good. + I like LEDs.

For a MOBO, I think I will be going with the EVGA 780i SLI (If I choose to upgrade this mobo will provide space for 1-2 additional GPUs)

Since the MOBO is an EVGA 780i, I guess I'm going with Intel rather than AMD. It's a little more expensive, but I heard better things. Please enlighten me if I have been led down a false trail. Now the CPUs I have narrowed it down too is the Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 or the Intel Core 2 Duo E8400/8500
I'm not really sure. By the sounds of it Quad core would be better, and it's only ~20$ more. Advice would be appreciated.

Now for the GPU, I'm going with the EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+ 512MB 256-bit GDDR. I was thinking about the 9800 GT, but that is very similar to the 8800. So I thought I would pay 20-40$ extra for the "X+"

PSU is something I need advice on. What Should I get, How many Watts/Amps/etc. Brand. I would Like it to be around 100$ If possible. Keep in mind I would Like it to have enough power to supply a future possible upgrade, Possibly another GPU in SLI.

The rest of the computer will be no so important. If you want to give any ideas on what RAM to buy or CD/DVD ROM drives, etc feel welcome to do so.