My pearly 940X4 and a 4850X2 + 4850

Antman56

Distinguished
Apr 2, 2008
Hello everyone,

It is my first time starting a thread at this forum and I am going to share my results of my Phenom 940X4 with a trifire of 4850's. I have posted this is multiple forums (including Anandtech and ATI's Crossfire forum) to help people get their foot in the door. Finding info on success has been pitiful at best. It sounds simple, but it was actually terrible. Getting these things to tri-fire was one of the worst experiences I ever had... which is pretty over-dramatic (I did just graduate from GaTech... which was WAY WAY worse).

*IF YOU ARE USING ASUS 4850s (like tons of other people, not sure if this applies to 4870s), PLEASE UPDATE THE CARDS BIOS FIRST. IT DOESN'T SEEM LIKE THAT SHOULD BE THE PROBLEM... BUT TRUST ME IT IS!!!

Anyways, back to my setup. I currently have my 3.0 GHz CPU @ 3.53 (17@208). I have my integrated memory controller and L3 cache running @ 2288 Mhz (208 x 11) and I have my ram running at 1109 (208 x 5.33).

*note - overclocking my processors northbridge (integrated memory controller and L3 cache) did increase the IPC from what I can tell. I am scoring equal or slightly above most 3.7 Ghz Phenom 2's (atleast as far as friends are concerned). It also brought my memory bandwidth from 9.96 GB/s to 12.87 GB/s (pretty radical increase).*

My computer running 3DMarks 2006 at default settings:

AMD940X4353ATI4850X3700-1000-1.jpg

My computer running 3DMarks 2006 at 1920x1080 8xAA:

AMD940X4353ATI4850X3700-10501920-1.jpg

My computer running 3DMarks Vantage at Performance Settings:

AMD940X4353ATI4850X3700-1000Perf-2.jpg

My computer running 3DMarks Vantage at High Settings:

AMD940X4353ATI4850X3700-1000High-2.jpg