From Air to Water, Worth it?

cygone

Distinguished
Oct 30, 2009
Hi,

Ive been running for the last 6 months, an i7-920 @ 4.0GHz with Tri GTX260 216 OCd to 725/1150/1450.

This has been housed in a Antec P193 Case, using a Corsair H-50 Cooler (in Push/Pull) (intake at rear, out via top)

I live in the UK, and ambiant temp in room is ~28deg (far to hot). PC will idel at 47deg but increase to 85 under prime. Unfortunatly I built this around xmas when ambiant was ~15deg and PC was nice and happy.

My grfx cards will run at 100% load at approx 55deg (they are force fed masses amounts of air due to the case design).

If I was to change this to a water cooling set up to cool both the i7 and the Tri SLI set up, would I realistically be seeing a marked decrease in temperature? I would guess that my core temp would decrease but my grfx temps increase.

I would also like the WC setup to be completly internal, which would severly limit the amount of cases that are available for this, so far I believe, only the Antec 1200 (120.3 + 120.2) and Silverstone TJ-07 (120.4 + 120.2) can accomplish this. The 800D requires alot of modding, that coupled with the price tag makes it a no no.

Please also be advised I currently run a 4 disk array and would very much also like to keep these, and if possible some space for a pair of SSDs down the line.

I've read alot of articles saying that 120.3 is really needed for an i7 @ 4.0GHz, so would 120.2 be enough to remove the heat from a Tri SLI Setup (overclocked this far?).

Could 1 loop handle it with a good pump? Assuming 120.2 wouldn't remove enough heat from the grfx cards and the fact that it requires 2nd pump / 2nd resevoir and space is going to be severly limited.

Advice really welcome.

jedimasterben

Distinguished
Sep 22, 2007