My i5 is running pretty hot

feriluce

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2009
After building my first system about 1.5 months ago, I've finally decided to venture into the dark void of overclocking.

First of all. My current build is:

i5 750
4gb crucial 8-8-8-24 1600mhz
asus p7p55d-e pro mobo
powercolor ATI 5870
Coolermaster hyper 212 plus
win 7

As a complete noob when it comes to OC'ing, all I did was to turn on the auto OC function in the bios and set my ram to the correct timings (they defaulted to 9-9-9-24). Furthermore I also upped my 5870 to 925/1425 via ati overdrive, which is where it the tests started failing.

Anyway, my problem is that after the autotune upped my i5 to ~3700 mhz (19x195.5 according to cpu-z) my cpu is running at 81C max when running prime95 tests and ~45C when idle. Before the OC it ran at 30C idle and ~45C under prime95. I have a feeling this is quite a bit too hot. Am I correct in that assesment? If it is, then what can I do to rectify it?

On a bit unrelated note, when I try running the heaven benchmark after OC'ing it freezes up my PC for no apparant reason. It seem like it may suddenly have started to cause my display driver to crash. I have no idea if this is related to the OC at all.

Edit: Forgot to add which cooler im using.

RJR

Distinguished
Jan 7, 2009
Yep, too hot.

You may want to read a bunch of OCing guides to get familiar with the Bios entries and then OC in the Bios. Software based OCing overvolts like crazy for stability reasons, and even then doesn't do a very good job.

feriluce

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2009
Any tips to what the voltage to be around? I've searched around a bit, but haven't realy found any substantial info.