Sign in with
Your question

New to computer building

Last response: in Motherboards
May 15, 2009 4:51:20 AM

This is my first post on this site. I have always been into computers but have never really researched motherboards. Ive never built a computer from scratch. I'm looking to build my first from scratch computer. I was looking around at different places. TigerDirect, newegg, microcenter, etc... I found two mobo/CPU combos that I think seem to be a good deal.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite...

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite...

Same CPU different boards but the same price. I know they are boards from the same company and im guessing they are not that much different. one because of the price and two from there product line. I like to do gaming, autocad, im a web design student and i like editing pictures and videos.

What im looking for is some advice on what to do, are those mobo/cpu combo's good? Which one is better? Idea's on other parts. Currently i have a Nvidia geforce 9500 gt in my computer now. Would buying a 2nd one with the SLI be beneficial or should i buy new?

thanks ahead of time for you input.

More about : computer building

a b V Motherboard
a b à CPUs
May 15, 2009 5:26:49 AM

XFX MB = less than stellar support.

Pentium D = With the curent selection of i7, C2D/C2Q's and PII 2 45nm CPU's available, building a new Pentium D has no merit.

Try finding an i7/x58, PII/975 or C2Q/945 combo. ASUS or Gigabyte provided top rate MB support.
Related resources
May 15, 2009 5:34:20 AM

I see how you say its $70 cheaper but the two that I listed came with the Core 2 Extreme CPU. Again I am new to mobo's is there something better about the one you posted over the ones I have listed? I'm not doubting you. I would just like a little explanation so I can try to understand this better.
May 15, 2009 5:37:02 AM

Quote:
Try finding an i7/x58, PII/975 or C2Q/945 combo.