Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

THE Newbie: OC and my RAM

Tags:
  • Memory
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
June 9, 2010 2:44:34 AM

Hey guys, I decided to join this community because I just started learning how to Overclock probably 4-5 days ago, and literally learning what I need to know by googling and picking the best results. 90% of the time, it's this forum.

So I'll drop my base specs, I'm running a Pre-built(yes a pre-build, I bought it way before I expected to get into this stuff) Dell( :(  ) XPS 630i running the E8400 Duo Core @3.00 Ghz and the GT 8800 for now, but my GTX 260 is coming in 2 days!!!!!!

So I've been reading a LOT into OCing, and I feel I have enough of a handle on it to start asking questions. I want to start simple and have been trying to OC to 3.2 Ghz by setting my FSP to 355(x9 locked) and I was trying adding 1 step to the FPS voltage or the Core, because I can't seem to distinguish the difference of which will be better. I've also downloaded Orthos, Prime95, 3DMark 06, Real Temp, and CPU-Z as well as updated my drivers and such.

I was getting 3.2 Ghz and stress testing it with no problems, I even left Orthos up on a StressCPU with Gromacs core while I was at work for a good 9 hours, CPUs stayed at 55'c and with the OC I Idle around 42'c to 44'c.

But anytime I try and play a game, or use 3DMark, I was either crashing, freezing, or getting BSOD. After downloading CPU-Z and reading through the OC article that you guys recommend in almost EVERY response post, I noticed that the extra 1G of RAM that I bought a few months ago had a max Bandwidth of 333Mgz, which as most of you know is the default clock for my CPU. I bought this chip without really knowing what I was doing, all I wanted was more RAM. Since then I've learned and after all this frustration and pulling my hair out, is getting a faster and not such a piece of crap RAM chip really all I need to do? I seems to simple to be true.