Antec Sonata 3 Case
Q6600 GO stepping
Asus P5Q Pro
Saphire HD 4870 512mb
4 gigs (2gig x 2) Corsair XMS2 800mhz
WD Caviar Black 640gb Drive
2 Samsung DVD Drives
Asus 22" Monitor

I put everything together, double checked things to make sure all the power was connected properly and cables weren't loose. Since this is my first build I was VERY careful and methodical and read all the literature I had here and also the stuff that came with the parts.

I went to post and it just sits there. There are no beaps. The green LED is on and when I power it up all the fans come on just fine. There are a few green LED's on the 4870 and also one red one, I'm not sure if that's a problem or not. Any help you can suggest in getting this thing to post would be greatly appreciated.

First, what does your manual say about the LED's on the video card?

Second, the motherboard LED and the fans turning does not necessarily mean a good PSU. What kind of PSU? Stupid question, but is the CPU power connector (2X2 or 4X2 connector with yellow and black wires) plugged in?

If all that looks good, try this:

Clear the CMOS RAM. (This works often enough to be worth doing.) Your motherboard manual will tell you how. Make sure the HSF is properly installed. (You may have to remove the motherboard from the case to check this.) Turn on your PC. If it's still broke, continue on.

Disconnect and unplug everything but the PSU, CPU & HSF, power & reset switches, and the system speaker from the motherboard. When you turn on the PC, you should hear a series of long single beeps. This will indicate a memory failure. (You do not have any memory installed, remember?) In a way, this is very good. This tells you that your PSU and CPU are good, and the motherboard is probably good.