Sign in with
Your question

Q6600 DDR3 Motherboard

Last response: in Components
March 29, 2009 5:06:25 PM

Hey guys, Im a bit of a noob on hardware stuff so take it easy on me :) , I have recently upgraded my PSU and graphics card. I was wanting to go ahead and get to a 64 bit OS from XP and get a new motherboard that supports PCIe 2.0 and DDR3 memory, Im am currently running my 9800 GTX+ 1GB on an older Asus P5NE SLI that only supports PCIe 1.1. Im wanting to stay with my Q6600 for now b/c of my budget, but Im wanting to get one that supports the newer ddr3 memory, so I know it needs to be a LGA 775 socket, p45 board, but after that my knowledge base runs out,lol, so any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!, just to clarify anything I may have left out here are my current system specs:
Asus P5Ne-SLI (that I want rid of :) )
Intel q6600 core quad@3.0ghz
Rocketfish 700w PSU
320 GB HDD
APEVIA X-Cruiser Metal Case w/ Side Window-Black

More about : q6600 ddr3 motherboard

March 29, 2009 6:18:51 PM

There is no real benefit from DDR3 or PCIe 2.0 so Your money would be wasted. Save Your money for later.
a c 156 V Motherboard
March 29, 2009 7:05:25 PM

I don't think there is much to gain from using DDR3 memory with anything less than i7. If you want more performance, get a decent HSF and overclock your CPU to 3.3 to 3.6 GHz.
Related resources
March 30, 2009 12:08:13 AM

Ok, well thats good news :) , would it be noticable to at least go from Win Xp 32 bit to Vista 64 bit where more than 3gb of RAM is recognized, since my mobo is capable of 8gb? oh, and thanks a ton for the advice thus far
March 31, 2009 2:42:35 PM