Reinstall of windows for new board & chip???

shutterspeed

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2008
I know this is in the FAQ, but is there any way to preserve my system and applications when upgrading to a new board and chip?

I tried this recently between two laptops...my Acer (a great machine for the buck by the way) finally gave up the ghost, and I had to buy a Dell Inspiron. When I went to clone the old drive to the new one, it just would not take. Even a windows repair would not work?

Is there some kind of reason for this? Why, with all of the PnP stuff and whatnot, why in the world is this the case? I dont understand why it is so hard for windows to simply detect a new processor or hardware when it boots and make the necessarry adjustments. Why isnt there some kind of bootable program that will modify the necesarry windows files on the hard drive? It just doesnt seem like it would be all that tough?

Is it a software piracy issue?

My problem is that I am a photographer, and I have all kinds of settings and whatnot in Photoshop and other programs that will not transfer. I have plug-ins that can be reinstalled, but the settings all reset. There are also actions that have some dll files associated with them that will not transfer either. Yes, most of them I can install again, but they reset everything. Its a huge pain in the but, and honestly I am not likely to ever get it back to where I like it again. Same goes for other apps as well.

I tried a laplink product, and it didnt work. I don't see why they make that program where you have to have two bootable windows installs to transfer one to the other. What the heck is the value of that when you have a machine go out on you?

Ultimately, other than a hard disk failure, what good is backing up system and application files? If you cant apply them to a different computer (one that you replace a major part in) then it is futile.