OC i5-750 on Asus P7P55D-E Pro

jacksonyu721

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2010
Hello guys,
I'm thinking of overlocking my i5-750 on my Asus P7P55D-E Pro.

What are the settings that I should configure on my BIOS (CPU Voltage, Bus Speed)? Since I am completely new at overclocking, I really need some detailed help guys.

Can someone also tell me what are the settings in the BIOS that I must configure for overclocking, like the ones that I've mentioned above?
I don't care touch my BIOS until I really know what I am doing :p

If possible, is there a website where I can learn the basics to overclocking?

Thanks very much
JJ

iqvl

Distinguished
Apr 17, 2010
PCH: Intel P55 chipset voltage

- main I/O interface
- display connectivity
- audio feature
- power management
- manageability
- security
- Storage feature

It is pretty obvious that the higher the CPU frequency, the more frequent the I/O(input and output) and so the higher the power consumption of "main I/O interface". Hence, the PCH voltage needs to be increased based on the same current(P=VI). However, 1.10V should be sufficient for any OC achieved on air cooling.

PLL: Phase Locked Loop voltage

- Processor/IMC(Integrated Memory Controller)/other internal clocks
- Clock multiplying of processor is provided by an internal Phase Locked Loop

Generally, 1.8V(default value) and 1.9V for OC under 3.6GHz and 4.2GHz respectively.

Vtt

- L3 shared cache
- memory controller
- processor I/O power rail

Since memory controller frequency is dependent on BCLK, the higher the BCLK, the higher the Vtt required.

Try this for 3.6GHz:
Load-Line Calibration: Enabled (or Level2 for Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD5)
Vcore= 1.20V (CPU-Z idle)
QPI/Vtt/IMC= 1.14V
PCH= 1.10V
PLL= 1.80V
RAM= Specified voltage for your RAM

I just wrote up a long response to an identical thread, just check the OC forum threads list and there's already several i5 750 OC threads on the main page...