Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Help choosing a backup solution

Last response: in Storage
June 30, 2010 2:57:28 PM

Hello everyone, I am very new to Disaster recovery and backup solutions, so any help would be appreciated. I am purchasing (2) Servers to run Hyper-V. In total I plan on have 8 virtual servers running across the 2 machines. Each server will have a raid 5 configured with (3) 600gb hard drives. Realistically though, I plan on having 500gb full backups with 100gb dailies. I will also have a 3rd server who's role is simply to backup the 2 virtual servers to media.

So my question is what solution should I go with? There are many options like tape, hard drive, cloud, and I am having trouble figuring out what would be best suited to my needs.

My budget is approximately $4K, and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Best solution

a c 415 G Storage
June 30, 2010 4:15:26 PM

Backup is a very complex subject - there are a lot of options and what's best for the goose is not necessarily best for the gander.

The most important things you need to do no matter which solution you choose are (1) make sure you have at least two different backups on two different media, and (2) store at least one of them offsite. Depending on the cost of re-entering data, it doesn't matter so much whether the two copies are of the same backup or are backups taken on different days, but you need a "Plan B" if you try to restore and you find that one of your backups is no good.