Sign in with
Your question

DIY a NAS + HTPC.

Last response: in Storage
July 1, 2010 3:09:46 AM

Ok, I just upgraded my main gaming PC. took a look at my cabinet and realise i have a few un-used items for me to play around with.

Thus i came up with the idea of a HTPC + NAS system.

My setup:-
GA-965p-DS4
4x 750GB HDD.
1x 120GB HDD for OS.
Leadtek 7950GT.
C2D E6600
Kingston PC800 ram.
Window 7 enterprise.

(i am only lacking a case)

Basically another PC by itself. :)  but its main use its just to play/ stream HD videos (i have a apple tv/xbox360, but it doesnt stream subtitles unless i do encoding which is a pain in the ass, i dont like tversify :p  ), run Bit torrent 24/7, NAS with raid 5 for simple data protection.

I am going to connect this directly to my 42 inch LCD TV in my living room. Maybe even add a blueray drive in the future as i do not have a blueray player currently.

However, i am a total noob in RAIDs and i noted in a few forums that power consuption seems to be the major issue in NAS setups, which i think mine will be a total failure since its basically another PC by itself. Is there any setting for window 7 that could help with it? But if i am running BT 24/7, its not going to help with any HDD idle setting does it?

Just wanted some feedback, tried not to beat me with a stick for my idea but i simply just wanted to use all this spare parts that i have with me.

Also, any proposal for my raid setup?
My intention is to do BIOS raid5 + windows 7 for OS.
Is there such a thing as window raid?
Do i need to install things like the Intel Matrix Storage drivers or programs?
Is this idea bad? better off if i get separate items like a buffalo quad nas? and a commercial HTPC?

More about : diy nas htpc

a b G Storage
July 4, 2010 10:46:22 PM