CryTeC

Distinguished
May 3, 2010
I'm new to liquid cooling. I need to know what components do i need to build a water cooling system. I have around $300 bucks(can max to 350) to spend on liquid cooling but im not sure is it enough to make it work.

Here is my current system:

i5 750 2.67ghz stock heatsink----- currently running at 2.83ghz
Mobo msi p55-CD53
260gtx OC nvidia
OCZ 4gb DDR3 1333 mhz ---- currently running at 2.138 mhz
750W PSU
500gb Seagate 7200 rpm

I have my mind on the Prolimatech Megahalems Rev B. but if i buy all the accessories for it and it cost around $140(Clip2X, Ultra high speed 2X,heatsink why not just go all in for a good cooling system?
But if i buy the liquid cooling what is the safe range of processing speed of the i5 750 2.66ghz can go up to? ( i want it to go up to around 3.9 or 4.0ghz because i just want it not because i need it :bounce: ) not running 24/7 around 10H a day just for personal use and gaming .

banthracis

Distinguished
To get liquid cooling on CPU only to equal the best big air, it's ~$400 investment. If you wanna add GPU's, RAM and chipsets to the system, that's another ~$350, plus you'll need a bigger rad and more fans.

On the other hand, with a good case, you can max out an i5-750 using air cooling with great temps without any issue.

Also, why on earth, and how on earth are you taking 1333 OCZ RAM to 2138?

i4yue

Distinguished
Mar 28, 2010
yup upgrade the fans and BAM! even better watercooling for only like a $20 upgrade. throw the original fans on the pull side and put some yate loons on the push side ^_^

i have an OLD old version of the swiftech h20 and ive overclocked to 4ghz at 1.55 from 3.2ghz at 1.35 and my temps never go over 50c

banthracis

Distinguished
That's actually a really good deal there.
My only concern it that I'm not sure that Rad will work for an i7 at 4ghz. I personally wouldn't be comfortable with less than a 360.