Which Motherboard do I buy??

wasabi-warrior

Distinguished
May 14, 2009
Recently i got given a computer after its motherboard crashed. Im looking to replace it so i can get a working computer. Ive salvaged the parts from it, and need a motherboard to match the parts. Mainly, im focused on the CPU.
Its got an :
Intel Pentium 4 550 "Prescott" with
Socket 775 LGA

Which motherboard should i buy/look at?

wasabi-warrior

Distinguished
May 14, 2009
What motherboards with this socket do i look for?? I dont mind paying up to 250.
A few names might help (im a noob with this sort of stuff, i need names so i can research, esp. since prices are different where i live.)

As zipzoomflyhigh said, you could buy an inexpensive motherboard. What's the purpose of that system? I would presume that you're not a gamer since a 550 isn't very powerful. Any newer motherboard should support that 550 as well as Core 2 Duo and Core 2 Quad CPUs.

wasabi-warrior

Distinguished
May 14, 2009
Inexpensive would be fine. Purpose?? It was gaming, its just i was given the 550 for free, i figured it would be cheaper just to use that. Maybe its a bad idea. . .
No i dont have DDR2 memory.
and BTW. . .
EXAMPLE, PLEASE :cry: !
Any newer motherboard doesnt tell me much. As i said im a noob, im a computer user, not a modder, im only just getting into this stuff. Ive got no idea what motherboards are new or outdated. Sorry.
Would the motherboard zipzoomflyhigh had a link to be a good start?
I should probably say im looking to update the computer piece by piece as i get the money, and i know the motherboard has to keep up with that.

It was gaming, its just i was given the 550 for free, i figured it would be cheaper just to use that. Maybe its a bad idea. .