Sign in with
Your question

Small business storage solution

Last response: in Storage
July 3, 2010 12:08:42 AM

I'm new to RAID and am considering a solution for my small business. Right now I just have 1 hard disk (only 70GB used) and a backup solution.

I'm running:
P4 based motherboard (Asus P5WD2 Premium)
with onboard SATA RAID controller with support for RAID-10 and RAID-5 and 4 disks on each of 4 ports on mb.
and a second onboard SATA controller with an internal and external port.
Win XP Pro

Goals:
- Avoid more than a few hours of downtime due to an OS disk failure
- Access data from laptop if necessary due to non-disk related desktop failure
- Redundancy for data disks
- Overall good performance

My budget is roughly $500.

I'm thinking RAID-5 over 3 disks for the OS and software. I gather that this provides the best performance with redundancy for one drive failure. Write performance will suffer a little compared to RAID 10, but being as my data is on another array below, I'm thinking this will mainly only come into play during software installation and updates. Is there a performance advantage to 4 disks instead of 3?

For all data storage, I'm thinking RAID-10 over 4 disks on a DAS (firewire or SATA) external hard disk enclosure with built in RAID controller. I gather this will provide data redundancy and the best performance for frequently writes. My data includes documents, several program files such as Quickbooks, and an SQL database. With a firewire port, if my desktop goes down I could plug in my laptop and potentially access most of the data if I've got all the right software installed on the laptop. I see some such external enclosures for sale for around $200 with multiple ports including SATA and firewire.

I'll have a backup solution on the data volume as well.

Does this make sense? Any suggestions?
a b G Storage
July 3, 2010 5:08:35 PM