Sign in with
Your question

ASUS P6T deluxe v2 or EVGA E758-A1

Last response: in Motherboards
May 22, 2009 12:35:44 AM

I'm going to buying a new board very soon for the core i7, BUT...which one do I get!! :??: 
I'm leaning towards the ASUS board and the EVGA board. I read on opinions on the boards and people are saying EVGA is better for OC and customer support, while the ASUS board outperforms it.

I have some questions that I know only tomshardware can solve:

Which board is better for overclocking(best results)?

Which board is easier for overclocking(important for me because I'm a OCing newb)?

Which is better for 6GB of ram @1600mhz

What do you guys think? :sweat: 

My goal is to achieve in OCing is at least 3.6ghz on the 920(air cooled w/ Xigmatek 1283). Also, stability. Thats important for me. :D 

Spec for core i7 build:
Vista 64-bit
core i7 920
EVGA E758-A1 or ASUS deluxe v2
4870 x2 (already owned)
Corsair DOMINATOR 6GB ram 1600mhz
PSU: Antec 1000w(already owned)
May 22, 2009 1:35:14 AM

i'm trying to find out the same think right now. im also thinking about the regular p6t. i read a few reviews and i heard the p6t gets the same oc as the p6t deluxe v2. but the deluxe has the better heatsink / raid chip and 16+2 phase power. i think the placement for the pci slots on the p6t and the evga board are better then the deluxe.

hard choice i think i just gotta choose something
June 4, 2009 4:56:20 AM

Well Asus is known as a great OC'ing board, but in this case the evga board has super easy-to-work-with overclocking software. That evga mobo has a lifetime warranty, don't know about the asus. I personally chose the evga board over asus because it seems they made a really solid board with no problems. I believe they say evga tech support is top-notch as well, while asus's techies may get snootie.

The evga has an annoying 80mm fan above the video card that apparently can get loud, while the asus has a pci slot there where you could install a pci fan...