5870 overclocking problem

Joeses

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2010
Hello,
Today I overclocked my Powercolor 5870 pcs+ to 960/1235, the normal clocks for the card are 875/1225, which is a factory oc.

After my overclock I decided to run a benchmark to see if there was any difference, I went for the dirt 2 benchmark and ran it. TO my surprise the average and minimum fps were almost exactly the same, they didn't even differ by 1 fps.

With a core overclock at nearly 100Mhz, shouldn't I be seeing at least a 3-5fps gain? I'm new to overclocking though, so I'm not sure. Any suggestions to what could be causing this, bottleneck maybe? Or does the memory oc need to be higher in order to see gains?

Joeses

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2010
Catalyst version 10.4

Amd Phenom II 945 x4 @ Stock 3.0GHz
Gigabyte GA-MA770T-UD3P AM3 Socket
Crucial DDR3 1333MHz 4GB
Corsair Powersupply 650W
Powercolor 5870 pcs+
Western Digital Caviar 1TB

Joeses

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2010
Hmm, I didn't manage to find where you set the FSB.. I went in to the tweaking thingy where all the cpu clocks and stuff are, but I didn't find anything there saying FSB, I did see something saying 200MHz though, but it wasn't possible to change the value, is that the FSB?

Joeses

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2010
Okay, I ran the benchmark again, 2 times to be sure, and it seems that my fps has increased by about 4 frames per second. I'd also like to mention that I lowered the memory back to 1225 again because of a freeze in another game, but I've heard that memory doesn't really matter much if you want more fps in games, it's core that matters the most, correct?

Is a 4 fps gain normal for my overclock or should I still be getting more?
Thanks for the help

Joeses

Distinguished
Jun 12, 2010
Great! I'm quite tired at the moment, so I'll have to continue tomorrow. It's after midnight here in Sweden.

Thanks alot for the help!
Joe

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2008
@op: