What am I doing wrong?

A Squared

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2009
Hi everyone I have just found this website and I love it. I wish I'd have found it before I built my new system, but I guess it’s better late than never. I'm a photographer and graphic designer and I spend most of my time working in either Photoshop or Illustrator CS3. I've only recently started my business so money is tight right now but I had to get a new computer. I used some of the rom drives out of my old computer and bought the rest:
• AMD Ahtlon 64 X2 6000+ Processor ADX6000IAA6CZ - 3.0GHz, 1MB Cache, 1000MHz
(2000 MT/s) FSB, Windsor, Dual-Core, OEM, Socket AM2, Processor
• Masscool 5F9001B1H3 CPU Cooling Fan
• Asus M2N-SLI Motherboard - NVIDIA nForce 560 SLI, Socket AM2/AM2+, ATX,
• Audio, PCI Express, Gigabit LAN, S/PDIF, USB 2.0, Firewire, Serial ATA, RAID
• Corsair Dual Channel TWINX 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz E.P.P. Memory (2x 1024)
• EVGA e-GeForce 8400GS 512MB (459 MHz clock)
• Antec TruePower Trio 550: three +12V rails
• Hard Drives
500 GB SATA Western Digital Hard drive: WDC WD5000AACS-00ZUB0
160 GB IDE Western Digital Hard drive: WDC WD1600JB-00GVA0
80 GB IDE Western Digital Hard drive: WDC WD800BB-75CAA0
500 GB external Seagate FreeAgentDesktop drive
• Rom Drives
SAMSUNG: TSSTcorp CD/DVDW SH-S183L
SAMSUNG: DVD-ROM SD-616E
Dell: HL-DT-ST CD-RW GCE-8483B
Dell: 3.5 Floppy Drive
I know I need a better power supply, faster drives, more ram, and a better case but I’m not sure which I should purchase first. I’m also not sure how to make sure my system runs at its full potential. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
Kelly

Amg

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2008