Could my i7 be defective? memory controller?

So 2 weeks ago I bought upgrade parts for my PC. I purchased an Intel i7 920, ASUS P6T motherboard, and a 3x2GB G.skill DDR3 1600 8-8-8-21 memory kit. I am using a Thermalright Ultra-120 extreme 1366 cooler and running Vista Ultimate 64bit.

I had my mobo set to defualts except for using the XMP memory profile to get the rated memory clock speeds. When I run OCCT it blue screens with a memory error as soon at the test kicks in. This also happens on any game a minute or two into it. If I set my memory to the stock 1066MHz speed, everything is fine. I tried swapping in my buddies Corsiar Dominator 1866 memory (3 sticks) with the XMP profile and the same thing happened. We also tried to manually enter these settings and run at 1.65v. No luck. So I RMA'ed the motherboard, which I recieved the new one today. The same issue happens. Could this be my CPU? Could the memory controller be bad? I am new to the i7 arena so I am looking for help.

Thanks,

Not sure. I am at work so I can't check. But I have everything to auto and let the XMP profile make any changes. I think the dominator memory had more settings it automatically changed, but I do not recall.

If you are refering to the DRAM voltage and not one of the other dozen. The XMP profile says 1.6 for the G.skill and was 1.65 for the corsair. I tried 1.65 with the g.skill as well and had the same issue.

Stiffex

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2008
Maybe you could run the newer memtest that has support for i7 http://www.memtest.org/ and see where that takes you.
Also see below:

Memory