I7 875k overclock help

cory1234

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2005
Whats up guys?

I have my i7 875k overclocked to 3.7ghz for the summer. (1.168v, 1.21vtt, 50 linx runs/ 5 hours prime95) I wanted to try something I have never done before; using the speedstep/c states to reduce my multiplier during idle.

My problem: When I enable those features the voltage drops in idle, but the multiplier does not. It isn't stable when my computer is at idle @ 3.7ghz with .9v :p. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Is there a way to disable some of the c states so the voltage doesn't drop as much? <--- I wouldn't have to do that if I could figure out how to get the multiplier to drop during idle.

Thanks.

It might be C6 causing instability as it truely shuts down a core. You can try setting the limit to C3 and see if it helps.

Other "stability" features are turning off spread spectrum, and allowing a higher CPU amplituded (try 900 or 1000mV). Might want to try pinpointing which feature is causing the issue by only turning one on at a time. Say, first EIST... test... C1E... test... C States (Auto/C6) - and if that's the issue, try C3.

cory1234

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2005

Yea, I already tried turning off 6. It seems that speedstep and the cstates are doing exactly the same thing? If I disable one nothing changes.

Well technically eist is for changing the multiplier and also I believe for slight bclk changes whiltnc states cut or at least reduce voltage to cores. You need both for turbo boost. They're good features to have on but I guess not if they're causing crashes. I think you should be able to tell that c states is working if you watch your idle power in hwmonitor.

Ahwayzcool

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2010