Sign in with
Your question

Building New Rig (Advice sought!)

Last response: in Systems
January 5, 2009 10:36:12 PM

Hello fellow enthusiasts! Thank you for taking the time to read this thread.

I'm new here and all, and from Singapore as well. So we do not have newegg and all the wonderful rebates here.

I have a budget of SGD1300, which is about USD900, so that should act as a guideline. Also I already have a GFX, which is the ASUS Dark Knight 1GB EAH4870. So yeah. here's what I'm considering and further recommendations will be welcome.

Also I'm looking into overclocking, although I'm new to it. Heard it can help me save some dough here and there so you folks should be hearing from me at the overclocking forums as well :D 

Alright here goes.

CPU: E8400 or Q6600

I'm not actually sure whether or not to wait for the PhenomII or new Intel processors to churn out, thus I'll need some help here on the release dates and whether I should swoop in on the buy now, or wait for the new stuff to come out.

Motherboard: DFI Lanparty P45 T2RS+ or ASUS P5Q Deluxe

Here's what I was looking at as well. read many reviews about how this two are probably the best in the market for overclocking and stability for my price. Any other motherboards will be welcome as well!

Memory: TeamDark Elite 2x2gb PC2-8500 CL5 or Kingston HyperX PC2-8500

Also need some advice here. Not very good at memory stuff and not much reviews out there.

Hard Disk: Samsung F1Tb or WD Black Caviar 750GB

PSU: Corsair HX620 or Andyson F650 or Aerocool Horsepower 600W

Chassis: Centurion 690 or NZXT Lexa Blackline or HAF932

Cheers for all your help in the recommendation and replies I hope to hear!

Si Yuan
January 6, 2009 10:53:04 AM

Some response will be appreciated! ;) 
January 6, 2009 11:40:15 AM

look like good parts, some of them are not common in the States. The list should all work together
Related resources
January 6, 2009 12:43:28 PM