Sign in with
Your question

I7 930 OCing Advice

Last response: in Overclocking
June 23, 2010 5:10:21 AM

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie OCer and I'm just learning how to do it so far.

My Specs:
Asus P6X58D-E Mobo
i7 930 (d0 stepping)
6gb ddr3-1600mhz 7-8-7-20 Corsair XMS3 Ram
Cooler Master Sniper Storm Case

My current BIOS settings:

CPU:
BCLK: 200
Multiplier: 21 ---> 4.4gHz
1.25 vcore (my mobo won't allow me to go lower for this clock, but I don't know why).

Ram: 1604 mHz (7-8-7-20)

Everything else is set to auto, hyperthreading off, turboboost off.

I'm using an indigo xtreme TIM and a noctua nh-d14 cooler (I've gone thru reflow already.) My current max temperatures are around 75-77 (depending on ambient) with prime95.

If/when I plan to clock higher, what should I do? Should I increase multiplier or BCLK? And how much? Also, should I OC my ram, and by how much? What do I need to do to increase ram speed? I just want to keep my max temperature under 85 with prime95.

More about : 930 ocing advice

a b K Overclocking
June 23, 2010 8:04:10 PM

Nice setup! You already have a nice OC and the RAM is running at the rated speed. Increasing the RAM speed will give only marginal performance benefits and you run the risk of higher voltages (heat issues) and probably lower RAM speeds.

However, if you are still interested in increasing the OC, read some of the nic guides on this site. I have OCed my i7 to 3.82GHz, and underclocked my 1600MHz RAM to 1460MHz. Idle temps are 30 degs C, and temps while running Call of Duty - Modern Warfare is around 45 degs. C
m
l
a b K Overclocking
June 23, 2010 9:25:05 PM

dvtran93 said:
Hello everyone, I'm a newbie OCer and I'm just learning how to do it so far.

My Specs:
Asus P6X58D-E Mobo
i7 930 (d0 stepping)
6gb ddr3-1600mhz 7-8-7-20 Corsair XMS3 Ram
Cooler Master Sniper Storm Case

My current BIOS settings:

CPU:
BCLK: 200
Multiplier: 21 ---> 4.4gHz
1.25 vcore (my mobo won't allow me to go lower for this clock, but I don't know why).