New system what part is broken?

kellogs908

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2008
I just build a new system a bit cheaper than I originally planned but it should get the job done for awhile
unfortunatly the video card will not turn on, there is no power out the usb ports directly on the motherboard, and the motherboard cpu fan out does not work but the motherboard power fan out does work

specs
q6600
4gb 2 sticks of g skill ddr2-1066 ram
700 watt ocz gamexstream psu
zalman cpu cooler cant remember the model number
1tb wd hard drive
gtx 260 video card
gigabyte ga-ep45-ud3r motherboard

this is my first build, so i do not know an extreme amount about how everything should work such as should a video card power on when plugged into a power supply but not into the motherboard, if this is the case that means that the video card is faulty but the motherboard would be faulty as well for not having power to the rear usb ports, unless something else can cause that

any help would be really really appreciated

Check to see if you have the 4 pin cpu power plugged in. From the power supply there should be the 20/24 pin power to the board, a 4 pin power next to the cpu and probably a 4 or 6 pin plug into the video card. All 3 of those provide power and all need to be plugged in.

kellogs908

Distinguished
Dec 5, 2008
I have the atx plugged in which is one 10x2 and one 2x2, but there is a 4x2 left open close to the cpu labeled 12v 2x4 is that what you are talking about because if so I have not plugged that in and everything I thought I read says you do one or the other, and even if this was the case wouldnt my usb ports in the back still provide power?