Completely stumped and desperate

Talkimas

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2009
Hello all, new to this forum, but I've been floating around various tech forums for almost 5 years now, but the my usual haunts haven't been helpful as of late, so I'm looking for some new opinions.

Inc huge wall of text
(Compiled from 3 posts over 2 days on another forum I go to, so I apologize for any continuity issues)

Part 1 -
I got my new hard drive in the other day, so I figured I may as well do some work on my computer while it was inside anyway. I notice I still had my old 520 modstream laying around, and decided to do some work on it. Previously I had to remove it, as my computer would turn on and POST but nothing would display on the screen (LED codes on the motherboard let me know it booted successfully). Took it to a shop that had parts to diagnose the problem, and they said it was the PSU. I had to mod the 4 pin connector on the PSU previously as it was too short, so I chalked it up to this finally failing, and installed my old 480w Thermaltake.

On a hunch, I unwrapped the tape on the modstream and found out, sure enough, 1 of the connections had come undone, I reconnected and rewrapped all of the cables. Put the motherboard on a piece of cardboard (was also transferring cases), plugged in the video card, RAM, PSU, and started it. Same problem as before. Fiddled with a few connections, thing stopped booting altogether. Oh well, I figured, so I went to reconnect the old PSU. Started it up with the TT, and a loud screaming was coming from the PSU. I noticed I forgot to plug in my video card. Turned it off, plugged it in, and booted it. Uh-oh, same problem with the other PSU. Now that this problem has spread to 2 PSUs, I'm wondering if it isn't the video card failing