USB devises are not recognized

ashrogue

Distinguished
Apr 7, 2009
Hi all,

I am a total noob when it comes to computer tech.
I am a just a regular personal computer user.

In my device manager, there is an yellow bubble beside "Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller"
and none of my usb ports are recognizing any devices.

Out of sheer curiosity, i disabled the driver with the yellow mark (Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller) and when i restarted my computer, all my USB devices are working.( Note that after restarting, the device status is still disabled and not updated ).

I could have continued using this way, except that i get a prompt saying my usb devices can run faster if i connect to USB2.0 ports. After a shallow search on google, i realised that i do have USB2.0 ports since my device manager mentions "Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller" ( having read in a thread ). So if my disabling that driver is preventing me from using the ports at full speed ( this am guessing ), i would like to do something about it rather than just let it remain disabled.

Can anyone please help me how to solve the problem?

to be more clear,

i have been having this problem for some time( An year and i even forgot when and why i started having this problem ). since then i have been using USB to PS2 coverters for my mouse and keyboard. And for pen drives and stuff, i was using the usb ports of my friend's computer who is connected to me through a LAN.

very recently i noticed that by disabling the "Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller" driver which was showing a yellow bubble beside it saying "This device cannot start. (Code 10)", my usb devices started to work, so that is how am using all my devices now.

r_manic

Administrator
Hi ashrogue, it's not really clear what you mean. You're saying that, once you disable the driver of your "Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller", your USB devices can connect properly, but not at USB 2.0 speed?