CS4 OpenGL Feature means I need which video card?

jglovier

Distinguished
Jan 25, 2009
Need some advice here from people who know (cause I’m still learning).

OK, so I’m a freelance graphic designer. Two years ago when I first started into this I went to Best Buy to pick up a good workhorse of a computer. Thanks anyways, Best Buy.

What they sold me was a Gateway GM5446E with the following specs:
Intel Core 2 Duo Processor E6320 (64 bit processor, each core 1.86GHz, shared 4 MB L2 cache, 1066 MHz FSB)
-NVIDIA GeForce 7650GS 256MB
-Optical Drive DVD+RW
-500 GB SATA II HD
-2048 MB DDR2 (I’ve since upgraded to 4GB)
-300W PS
-24” Gateway display
-Windows Vista Home Premium (32 bit)...arrgghhh
…and some other features not so relevant.

This computer has been a fine entry level machine for me, other than Windows Vista (which actually had so much problems a few months ago that it was entirely locked and Gateway support advised me that I’d have to reformat the whole machine – which really sucked). All I really run on it, though, is Adobe Creative Suite 4 Design Premium (Photoshop CS4, Illustrator CS4, InDesign CS4, and though I don’t use them, Flash CS4 and Dreamweaver CS4).

Here’s my issue (apart from what may be the obvious): my computer is less than satisfactory when working with very large files in Photoshop, particularly files that are 300dpi resolution and larger than say 8 x 10 inches. Also my machine can barely handle it when I’m working back and forth between Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign simultaneously. Recently Photoshop began refusing to do what I asked it to during one such occurance, with the error message: “Photoshop could not complete your request due to insufficient memory (out of RAM).”