This one blows my mind...

dechy

Distinguished
Mar 7, 2008
Ok, I've seen some seriously weird stuff in the past concerning hardware failures / issues / etc... but this one takes the cake. It might be because I simply cannot wrap my mind around it and fix it (I used to be a LAN admin for the feds, so I've seen my fair share of hardware configs & troubleshooting), or it might be because I THOUGHT I had fixed it and it blew up in my face.

- Started when my 8800GTS 512 stopped being able to turn on my monitor from sleep after shutting down my PC

- Then it was whenever I turned on from a COLD start (not shutdown - turn on - shutdown... like a 1hour + delay between a shutdown and a power on) I would get maybe 15FPS in ANY game and my Windows was EXTREMELY laggy, the fix was a simple reboot.

- I tried everything to diagnose, every damn memory test, video tests, CPU tests, etc... no red flags.

- Ok, my vid card is fried, it's being stupid and its time I get a new one; a shiny new XFX 4870 1GB XXX

- Swap the cards, install the drivers, play games all quirkiness gone and a pretty damn nice boost in FPS for every game that I play... well, just a tiny bit more FPS in WoW, but that game is holy screwed with it's graphics engine, hell, EvE Online got a 80% boost in FPS with Premium graphics everything to the max (200+FPS VS ~120FPS) and 3dmarks through the roof.

- Go to bed happy

- After work the next day, boot up the PC and Beeeeeeeep, Beep, Beep, Beep.... W T F, NNNOOO, VIDEO CARD ISSUES! tell me it ain't SO. I try everything; reseating the RAM, unplugging everything from MB, reset BIOS through jumpers, etc... always the damned beeps...