Extremely High CPU Temps. Help please!

ark300

Distinguished
Aug 23, 2008
Assembled everything today. Powered on and no bad POST beeps. Entered BIOS. Went to the hardware monitor and the CPU temp was at 85 deg cel/ 185 deg feh!!! The motherboard temps were fine. I immediately shut it down. I opened it up and placed my hand around the CPU are and CPU Fan area, no hot temps at all.

I'm pretty sure the BIOS was right and I probably didn't feel any heat because it wasn't on for too long.

Obviously, its probably a problem with installing the heatsink correctly. I have the ZEROtherm ZEN FZ120 and used MX-2 Artic Cooling thermal paste. The only thing I can think of is that the heatsink isn't close enough to the CPU. Isn't the copper suppose to touch the CPU?

This is my first build, so I am still a novice. I knew if I was going to have any problems it would come from the CPU heat sink...

Let me know what you guys think it is, and how I can fix it. Thanks!

System:

GPU: SAPPHIRE 100259-1GL Radeon HD 4870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card
Ram:G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
HD: Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Optical Drive: SAMSUNG Black 22X DVD+R 2MB Cache SATA 22X DVD Burner
PSU: PC Power & Cooling S75CF Red 750W
CPU Heatsink: ZEROtherm ZEN FZ120
Case: COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP Black SECC/ ABS ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Mobo: ASUS P5Q-E LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard .
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor Model BX80570E8400
OS: Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit English for System Builders 1pk DSP OEI DVD

Nik_I

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2007