ASUS G73 A-1 motion blur and slower fps

benson733

Distinguished
Jul 2, 2010
I have a brand new ASUS G73 A-1 notebook

Display

17.3" (1920 x 1080) LED backlit

CPU

Intel Core i7 720QM @ 1.6GHz (2.8GHz Turbo)

Memory

8GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics

ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870 1GB GDDR5, DX11 Capable

Storage

1TB (2 x 500GB) 7200RPM Hard Drives

Optical

Blu-ray Combo Drive

Operating System

Windows 7 Home Premium x64

I'm wanting to do some higher end gaming on it. I have updated the bios and the ATI catalyst plus the direct x and all that stuff. I have tested the games Dirt 2, Crysis and the MOH 2010 beta. All 3 seem to have alot of motion blur and just don't look like they are preforming as well as they should be... I'm very new to the high end computer game an I over clocked the GPU using the AMD tool and I seemed to get slightly better results on dirt 2 with high settings. I was wondering if it would be worth it to overclock the cpu as well? Also I understand a lot of the issues may just be software. I really need help on getting my computer running games to where they look good and don't have a blurry or choppy look when I move the mouse.

What should I do to get results???

Blckhaze

Distinguished
May 21, 2010
In crysis in options there is the option to turn off motion blur, which is exactly what you're talking about.

I would turn off shadows and motion blur to the minimum/off settings. Crysis is a REAL system hog... that game has amazing graphics but jesus. I know, it's 2 years old, so you would think a newage PC would run it flawlessly.. but that's not the case. People still use it to benchmark with.