Wolf52

Distinguished
Mar 31, 2009
Ive been using a case with no problems for 3 years now, but just today i had a very difficult time booting up my computer. I narrowed it down to my power switch. After a lot of jiggling i finally got it to boot up ok and luckily it was confirmed that my hardware is ok. My question is this, are all power switches the same? I have an older computer that i was going to scrap but i can probably salvage the switch before i do so. And yes, i did check if the switch was connected to the mobo properly, its definitely the switch itself. Any help would be appreciated.

You can verify this by swapping the power and reset switches.

Are all power switches the same? Electrically, they are identical. Mechanically, without looking, who knows? If the two switches look like they have a similar mounting scheme, you can try. If the actual switch part mounts behind a plastic front panel, you may be able to replace it with a generic push button switch (requires soldering skills). Worst comes to worst, you can drill a small hole in the front panel and mount the switch that way. It will look kind of crufty, but it will work.

OK! I can see the power switch is located on the bottom third of the front bezel (panel). Can you carefully remove that bottom part? If you can you can get a good look at the power switch.

When you remove the bezel is the complete power switch mechanism still attached to the bezel or is just the push button still attached to the bezel? In some cases just the push button is attached to the bezel while the actual switch is attached to the chassis. The switch might be in the shape of a square or rectangle and it usually has a small plunger. When the power button is pressed it pushes the plunger which causes momentary contact and the computer starts up. Release the push button and the momentary contact is broken.