Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Overclocking guide complete beginner level

Last response: in Overclocking
July 7, 2010 9:13:55 PM

Hello everyone at Toms Hardware
Im new to overclocking, Ive only tried overclocking two times, once my old graphics card which completely screwed my windows so I had the do a complete reinstall, and once my old Athlon 64 CPU which only gave me an 11 MHz clock speed increase before instability.
Now, in the near future im planning on buying an AMD Phenom II x4 955 CPU, and Im planning on OCing it, so I read the AMD Black Edition OC guide here on the forums, but I was really confused. seems like it only explains what to do, not how to do it, and what it means. so I read some other guides here on Toms Hardware but it was still mostly the same, I didnt have enough background knowledge to get much useful out of them.
So this is what im wondering, could a nice person direct my to a complete beginner level OCing guide, not necesarily focused on AMD Black Edition CPUs, but giving me the basic knowledge about OCing, considering CPUs, memory and motherboards etc etc.

much appreciated, and thank you in advance for reading and replying
a b K Overclocking
a b à CPUs
July 8, 2010 1:47:13 PM

If your truly interested in OC'n then I would recommend that you go back to that guide and research the parts you do not understand.

Google is your friend or type in the "Search Box" at the top of the forums your subject there.

Many people would like to OC but there are no guaranties on your results as every PC will have its own specific settings that work best for that hardware combination.

Good luck to you and remember, we all started where you are now at some point and had to do the same thing.

There just is no easy way to it.:) 
m
l
July 8, 2010 10:22:19 PM