Really need some help understanding temps

cheezeman

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2010
Hello all -

I have some questions about my recent build regarding CPU temps and could use some help. The build is:

Intel Core i5 750 2.66GHz
CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus CPU cooler
ASUS P7P55D Deluxe motherboard
4GB (2x2) OCZ Gold memory
Nvidia 250 GTS 1GB x2 in SLI
Win7 64-bit
etc...

This is my first build in a while so first thing I do is load up a temp monitoring program (using RealTemp after some light research/recommendations) to check out my temperatures. I'm struggling though to understand how to interpret what I'm seeing, specifically around the calibration and max temps. Here's a screencap (click for larger version):

coldtemps.jpg

OK so reading the RealTemp website calibration portion, it says to leave the CPU settings at default (for the new i5/i7s because of the auto-throttling) and that the temps I should be seeing should be about 8* C above what my room temperature is. However as you can see in the screencap, the minimum temperatures is 21* C - which is 70* F. Now, I don't have a way to take my room temp, and it was pretty cool in the room the day, but let's say at coldest it was maybe 68* F (or 20* C) room temperature. So do I need to go enter a +8/+9 into RealTemp or are the new CPUs really putting off that little heat at idle? edit: I should also add that the BIOS was reporting about 22* C, but I'm not sure if the CPU throttling is enabled at that point or not (i.e. it might be running hotter in the BIOS simply due to clock speed differences between throttled and not-throttled because that hasn't been enabled yet, or if that is a more accurate value than RealTemp).