First timer's Cheap(ish) Gaming Build

ZeCabbit

Distinguished
Jan 15, 2009
Hello Everyone. I feel that I should apologize in advance, as I am a first time builder, for any misunderstandings I may have, or poor choices, etc. My Goal here was to build a computer capable of modern gaming on high'ish settings [or Even medium/moderate. I am not particular huge on the graphical performance of the game, as long as it runs well. In fact, I generally prefer the oldfashioned 1024*768 resolution.] with algorithmic side-work on a $800 budget. This is not including Monitor, keyboard, mouse, OS. Ideally I'd like to work the OS into the budget as well, but I can make do until a time in the future when I have some spare cash.

Case - Rosewill Wind Ryder RZLS142A-P BK Dual 120mm Cooling Fans and Mesh Design Front Panel Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail $45
The Case was one of the more daunting tasks for me, as I simply don't know anything about cases. I wanted something that would allow airflow, and that everything could fit into. I don't know if I really accomplished that with this case.

PSU - hec X-Power Pro 650 650W Continuous @ 40°C ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Power Supply - Retail $55
I happen to also know little about PSUs. I know that rail amp matters more than what the advertised wattage is. In this case, it's 4 rails @ 19A each. I don't honestly know what that -means- though. Also, it contains one PCI-E 6pin connector, and one PCI-E 6+2 pin connector

CPU - AMD Phenom 9950 BLACK EDITION Agena 2.6GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 140W Quad-Core Processor - Retail $170
I realize that Intel has the cpu lead, but I'm working off of a budget, and this seemed like a decent quad. I recognize that duo's are better for gaming than a quad [at present], though that is something I suspect will change in the future. I also do not intend on overclocking unless I feel forced to.