New build won't start, help

RadioFlyerr

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2009
Okay this is my first build ever. I looked in my mobo instruction manual to figure out how to build this. Anyway i get everything installed plug in my PSU, hold my breath and turn it on. The power flickers on everything turns on for aprox 2 seconds then the power goes out. 1 second later the power returns the system starts again and a few seconds later the power leaves the system. This happens over and over again.

Help!

RadioFlyerr

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2009
I forgot to mention there are no beeps or anything from the mother board. Anyone know what it could be!

edit: the frustrating thing about this is this is my last day off and i wont have time to figure it out after today and i have no clue where to start : (

kubes

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2008
Since you've eliminated the PSU, lets next try the power switch from the case. Unplug the power switch connector from your motherboard. Take a screwdriver or a paperclip and then short the two pins. See if the pc will stay on for that.

RadioFlyerr

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2009
Okay i did that. Same behavior.

It almost seems like its a power issue because of the way the power sometimes only sightly flickers out and and random times the power goes out.

kubes

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2008
*Check that you have the the cpu fan plugged in
*Check to see that you have the the 4/8 pin connector plugged into the motherboard.
*remove your wireless card for the time being.

Are u getting any vidoe signal? Assuming all the fans start spining?

RadioFlyerr

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2009
*third party cpu fan is plugged in
*8pin connector is plugged in ( assume its the right one since it wasnt labled but was the only plug on my powersupply that fit. Also it had a removable 4 pin part)
*Have not even opened the wireless card yet.

No video signal sir, none what so ever.

kubes

Distinguished
Nov 4, 2008
Double check you have the right 8 pin connector plugged into this.