Sign in with
Your question

Water Cooling vs Air Cooling

Last response: in Overclocking
July 9, 2010 5:04:06 PM

Currently I'm using a Scythe Mugen II on a i7-920 build. I was wondering the maintenance requirements involved in a water cooling system. I've been modding computers for the past 15 years and have yet to even touch a water cooling system. I'm not one for super high maintenance as I dust out my computer once every 3 months or so. I have seen that just to get going I'm going to have to drop $300 on an water setup. I assume that if the pump goes your system is going to overheat quick and if you are lucky just shutdown.

Really what I want to know is how often are you guys having to do the following:

Clear out radiator of dust?
Refill Coolant?
Replace The Pump?

Are the fittings tight enough not to worry about moving the computer to say a LAN party and have to worry about checking for leaks.

Am I going to notice that much of a difference in temperature drop from a high end cooler upgrade, are we talking 12-15 degrees or only 5-6 degrees?

Just trying to spend my money wisely to get the best bang for the buck without making my life a maintenance hassle.
a b K Overclocking
July 9, 2010 5:44:05 PM

Quote:

Clear out radiator of dust?
Refill Coolant?
Replace The Pump?

1. Clear out dust about every month or so cause I have carpet.

2. Re-fill and clean every 6 months.

3. Replace pump? Never have I had to replace a pump yet (even after 2 years of running the same pump)...

Quote:

Am I going to notice that much of a difference in temperature drop from a high end cooler upgrade, are we talking 12-15 degrees or only 5-6 degrees?

Depends on your ambient temps,OC,etc.
July 9, 2010 6:25:03 PM

Thanks for the information. Doesn't sound super painful maintenance wise. How sensitive are the tubes to coming loose/leaking during moves to and from LANs?
Related resources
a b K Overclocking
July 10, 2010 2:48:46 AM