Creating a home server

Felineprime

Distinguished
Sep 14, 2011
First time poster here. I'm a programming engineer in Montreal and I hope to contribute some information back after this, now... to the question.

Me and my wife (another prog engi) are setting up a home server to use to put Boxee box software (IE play movies on our TV) , run SVN or GIT, host terraria, act as a file server and hopefully more. We essentially purchased several inexpensive parts online for about 200 dollars Canadian, motherboard with onboard video (for HDMI output), 4gigs of memory, CPU, power supply and some leftover parts from expired systems we previously had (chasis, keyboards etc)

Due to my schools program I can have windows server 2008 and windows 7 (all versions) for free... I've looked it up but I can't really find what the difference is between windows server 2008 and windows 7 is. Which one would be better for the setup we are trying to create. Does anyone have any references to good articles regarding what each does? (or can simply explain it. That works too) So far I am leaning towards windows server just to add to it my resumé :D

I'd happily take any recommendations as well for this type of setup.

(also applogies if this isn't in the right section/sub-Section)

Windows 7 has abilities that aren't needed/included with the server edition.
Example:
Windows 7 Home Premium has Microsoft Media Center to watch movies, live TV, Radio, MP3 songs and may other media/entertainment tasks.
Windows Server doesn't have that...

Windows Server is optimized for joining and being part of a domain Windows 7 Home Premium cannot join a domain at all... ON THE OTHER HAND Window 7 Pro and Ultimate CAN join a domain.