Sign in with
Your question

Is this worth $350 ? Abit IP-35 Pro Rev. 1.1 and stuff

Last response: in Systems
Anonymous
January 15, 2009 10:55:56 PM

Im looking to build and I saw these components used from a local builder. Is this package worth $350?

-Abit IP-35 Pro Rev. 1.1 motherboard with bios dated 5/26/2008 (Intel P35 Bearlake chipset)
-4 gigabytes G.Skill dual channel DDR800 (PC6400-CL5) memory (2 X 2gb sticks)
-Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Processor with 8mb cache @ 2.4 ghz - G0 revision(easily overlockable to 3.0ghz at 1333fsb).
-Dual horizontal orb cooler with blue LED's and pre-applied artic silver thermal paste
-Antec 500 watt SP-500 power supply

I like alot about it - the # of SATA ports, good review of board, eSATA, good RAM, and he is willing to be available for email support while I build my first system. I am a photographer. He will teach me to overclock, which he has done successfully with this combo.

The purpose is a pure work computer for only Photoshop work. Dont laugh [gasp] Im coming from a P4 2.4Ghz 2gb RAM no HT ! No place to go but up lol. I make a living making pics, so this is critical buy for me.

One issue (maybe): I like a ASUS Nvidia card that is ""PCI Express 2.0 x16" - but the motherboard is apparently "only" "PCI Express x16" (I assume v1.1 - but I dunno... please advise.

Im total new to this, but I have installed PSU's, HD, RAM, even a motherboard - help me take the next step to build my first baby!!!
January 16, 2009 1:30:14 AM

Antec makes good PSU and cheap PSUs. I'm not sure wich that is.
I think cheap. they bundle the EA500 with a decent case. might want to think about that.

otherwise, it looks like a decent deal. look on newegg for comparisons.

dont worry about PCIex16 1.0 vs 2.0 its all backwards compatible.

If I were to build a quad core right now, I'd be looking more at a 45nm chip for better energy efficiency. Phenom2 or a Q9450.

not sure if your cooler is worth much, but I've no doubt its better than stock.