Sign in with
Your question
Solved

BSOD error, Phenom 9950 BE mild OC

Last response: in Overclocking
July 12, 2010 4:38:28 PM

Hey everyone, i have been trying a mild overclock on my Phenom 9950 BE and Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H mobo. This is my first attempt at it. I was just going to get it up to 3.0 GHz and leave it there until i learn more about overclocking.

I have only adjusted the multiplier so far. X14 was stable. Ran AMD Overdrive stress test all night, no problems at all. I have also ran Memtest all night before i started this and that worked out well too.

Got up to X15 multiplier and everything seems to work fine. Graphics intensive fps games still play great. I ran a couple benchmarks (X2 the Threat, AMD Overdrive benchmark, ) but on 3DMark05 Pro it gives a BSOD error. "A clock interupt was not recieved on a secondary processor within the allocated time interval". Computer boots back up fine afterwards. Cooler is working fine and temps have not gotten over 51c. I still have yet to stress test this X15 OC. Just trying to figure out a possible fix before i go too far.

I did a Google search and found a person suggested a bump in VCore. Could this be what it needs? Some threads here say bump it up and others recommend leaving it in auto. I still have the System Voltage Control set to auto right now. It is running the CPU @ 1.25v. Would a manual bump up to 1.3v be recommended?

Another search recommended a Microsoft hotfix but i suspect it may be a voltage issue as i never had the BSOD error before i started OC'ing.

I have been running Everest System Stability Test (which streeses the cores to 100%) for 3 hours now with no problems there. It just seems to be the 3DMark05 program that causes the BSOD so far.
My specs:
Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H mobo - bios version F4
AMD Phenom 9950 Black Edition 125W
Nvidea GTX 260
Sound Blaster X-FI Elite Pro
Corsair Dominator DDRII 4090 MB 1066
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HD
Zalman CNPS9700 CPU cooler