Hyper 212+. Need advice. Help me?

trancetunes

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2009
Hi, I got a Cooler Master Hyper 212+ heatsink with IC Diamond 7 thermal compound.

My temps at idle were 50-55 C before installation and thermal compound.

My new temps are 39/40 - 44/45 C after installation and thermal compound.

This means I have gotten a 10 C drop.

Question: Is this normal? I know that is significant-ish, but I was really hoping for more. Is there a chance my compound didn't spread enough? I know when I was putting the heatsink on, I felt like the compound went more towards one direction rather than spreading equally from the center. However, I might just be paranoid!

Anyone/Everyone please give your opinion on if this is a normal amount of temperature drop, or if I was right on expecting more of a drop.

Thanks so much! Hope to hear soon. :)

Solution
Its up to you as to whether you want to go north south or east west. As long as you have the 212+ blowing directly into an exhaust fan, you won't have much warm air staying in the case.

Yes, a little bit of swivel is normal, but it should require a bit of force to achieve.

obsolete99

Distinguished
Apr 10, 2010
I'd say it sounds normal. What's your CPU? Is it overclocked? Are you using one fan with the 212+ or two in a push/pull configuration? There are other factors as to why people get different amounts of temperature drops. So, if you have more ICD7 and are still unsure of the temps, try re-seating the 212+ again and see what happens.

trancetunes

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2009
i7-920 D0 @ 3.8 GHz
ASRock X58 Extreme Mobo
Antec 300 Case w/ 2 120mm intake at front, 1 120mm rear exhaust, 1 140mm roof exhaust

Voltages:

mlihqo.png0