Hyper 212+. Need advice. Help me?

Tags:
  • Cooler Master
  • Heatsinks
  • Thermal Compound
  • Overclocking
Last response: in Overclocking
July 13, 2010 8:55:25 AM

Hi, I got a Cooler Master Hyper 212+ heatsink with IC Diamond 7 thermal compound.

My temps at idle were 50-55 C before installation and thermal compound.

My new temps are 39/40 - 44/45 C after installation and thermal compound.

This means I have gotten a 10 C drop.

Question: Is this normal? I know that is significant-ish, but I was really hoping for more. Is there a chance my compound didn't spread enough? I know when I was putting the heatsink on, I felt like the compound went more towards one direction rather than spreading equally from the center. However, I might just be paranoid!

Anyone/Everyone please give your opinion on if this is a normal amount of temperature drop, or if I was right on expecting more of a drop.

Thanks so much! Hope to hear soon. :) 

More about : hyper 212 advice

July 13, 2010 1:06:19 PM

I'd say it sounds normal. What's your CPU? Is it overclocked? Are you using one fan with the 212+ or two in a push/pull configuration? There are other factors as to why people get different amounts of temperature drops. So, if you have more ICD7 and are still unsure of the temps, try re-seating the 212+ again and see what happens.
m
l
a b K Overclocking
July 13, 2010 5:13:50 PM

10C at idle would be about normal except your temps are still high for idle, what processor do you have and is it overclocked. Load temps are more important what do they reach when you run Prime 95 or similar?
m
l
Related resources
July 13, 2010 7:24:24 PM

i7-920 D0 @ 3.8 GHz
ASRock X58 Extreme Mobo
Antec 300 Case w/ 2 120mm intake at front, 1 120mm rear exhaust, 1 140mm roof exhaust

Voltages: