Sign in with
Your question

Please HELP... external drive wiped out when upgrading window

Last response: in Storage
July 21, 2010 2:33:47 AM

Hi,

I'm very frustrated and in distress. I finally decided to upgrade my laptop from xp to window 7 last night. However, my external drive was still attached to the laptop. After the installation, I was no longer able to view my external hdd. The computer can read it, but it said 0bytes.

I've looked through the forum and found that other people have had the same problem. They have recommended recovery software which i've tried, but it is not getting the files I want.

I'm a photographer and I mainly use the external drive to back all my photos on. However, after using recuva, and partition recovery, I was only able to get mp3 and videos... but no picture files like .raw. It did find some jpeg, but they're small...like icons. Does anyone know what might be the problem or does anyone know of other good recovery softwares???

I don't know what I'm going to tell my client about their wedding pictures if I am unable to recover these files!!!!!!!! :(  ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Thanks for looking! ~sigh~
July 21, 2010 6:43:03 PM

First off, NEVER have any drives connected to your laptop during an install other than the one you're installing it to. Just gotta get that out.

Recuva is good for small things. I've used many different ones in the past (Recuva, RecoverMyFiles, many from Linux distros), and all of them work "to a degree".

I would look for a good, reputable shop in the area that specializes in data recovery. DO NOT go to a small computer shop. Use Geek Squad as a last resort. With data this sensitive, you can't afford mistakes, even if it costs a little more.

Best of luck to you.
m
l
August 6, 2010 3:13:36 AM

Thanks Linuxhero27... i ended up trying three more recoveries and the last one work. It only got the pictures but not the hd videos (mts). However, Photorec was able to recover the mts.