NEED HELP FOR OVERCLOCKING

Cs342

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2010
I'm about to upgrade my graphics card from a crappy little HD 4350 to a GTX 460 in 2 weeks, and I just want to try overclocking my 4350 for fun since it performs so badly in games. If it breaks then it's okay because I'll be changing my card really soon, but it would still be safer to have it not break. Since this is my first time, can anyone give me a sort of beginner's guide on overclocking, e.g. what is overclocking (haha), what it does, if it has a huge impact, if it damages your hardware and also what software to use?? Thanks!

Solution
Voltage tweaks simply allow the GPU core to operate at higher voltages, which allows for increase in clock speed higher than those possible at stock voltages.Some manufacturers bundle software with their cards that allow for voltage tweaks.Other options include rewriting the bios of the GPU as well a soldering the voltage regulators in the card.
Simply...

Overclocking = running your graphics card's GPU at higher speeds than it is rated at, i.e., an HD 5870 runs at 850 MHz stock, overclocking it would be running it any speed >850 MHz.

Overclocking normally increases performance, and only has a really noticeably performance boost with a overclock of greater than 50 MHz, generally speaking.

It may damage your hardware if the temperatures are too high or you overvolt the GPU too much.

You can use ATi Overdrive for a limited overclock, after that probably the AMD GPU Clock Tool.

Cs342

Distinguished
Jul 12, 2010