Your question

Installing older hard drive

Tags:
  • PCS
  • Hard Drives
  • Storage
Last response: in Storage
July 23, 2010 2:16:41 PM

Just bought a new PC and will be needing to transfer data from my old hard drive. Now I'm not too good with PCs but I know the basics of stuff, so will I be able to simply plug the old hard drive into the new system and be able to take the data from it immediately or will I have to mess around with it in the BIOS or whatnot first?
Also I've read about the 'slave'/'master' stuff and don't understand that, will I have to mess around with that too?
So yeah, a checklist of steps to install the older hard drive would be perfect, thanks a lot!

More about : installing older hard drive

July 23, 2010 4:00:04 PM

If it's sata just plug it in any sata port.

If it came form another windows computer you should be able to get your data off of it.
As far as master and slave don't have it pluged in sata 1 or 0, if you do you might have to fool with the bios.

When you're done you should reformat the drive ( more so if it uses FAT 32 but less if it uses the newer windows format )

Hope I helped!
a c 137 G Storage
July 23, 2010 4:02:05 PM

Easiest way is to get an external USB or eSata drive bay, and connect your old drive in that.

If your new PC has an eSata port, get that, it's quite a bit faster than USB 2.

Make sure the drive bay is for the type of hard drive you have, IDE or SATA.
Related resources
July 23, 2010 4:26:42 PM

hang-the-9 said:
Easiest way is to get an external USB or eSata drive bay, and connect your old drive in that.

If your new PC has an eSata port, get that, it's quite a bit faster than USB 2.

Make sure the drive bay is for the type of hard drive you have, IDE or SATA.

Hmm sounds like a good idea, but I have no idea where I'm looking for one of these so could you link me to one if possible? I'm from the UK btw.
Thanks
a c 137 G Storage
July 23, 2010 5:09:12 PM

crumble114 said: