Sign in with
Your question

I need help overclocking my cpu (

Last response: in Overclocking
July 20, 2010 3:58:35 PM

Processor: AMD Athlon II X4 640 3.00 GHz (i want possibly 3.4GHz)

when i first got the processor they said my motherboard could only support so much power and that this was the best cpu i could get for it.
(If i overclock it I am gessing that its power consumption will go up aswell, will it still be compatable on my motherboard?)

Motherboard: Asus M2A74-AM AM3

Power supply: 600W

This is my first time overclocking, and i hope someone will give me detailed istructions aswell as some of their favorite programes to use.

Thank you :) 

More about : overclocking cpu

July 21, 2010 2:04:46 PM

Thoma111 said:
Processor: AMD Athlon II X4 640 3.00 GHz (i want possibly 3.4GHz)

when i first got the processor they said my motherboard could only support so much power and that this was the best cpu i could get for it.
(If i overclock it I am gessing that its power consumption will go up aswell, will it still be compatable on my motherboard?)

Motherboard: Asus M2A74-AM AM3

Power supply: 600W

This is my first time overclocking, and i hope someone will give me detailed istructions aswell as some of their favorite programes to use.

Thank you :) 

yes the power consumption will go up. just look up your motherboard and it should say the max supported wattage. and yes it will still be compatible.

a bigger question is what is your cooling like? are you using stock CPU cooling? whats your Cpu's idle tempurature. and whats its temps at 100% usage.

to find out the 100% usage temps download Amd Overdrive and it has a stability test in it you can use. leave it on for about an hour and see hoe high the temps get.
m
l
September 28, 2010 12:28:53 AM

I had my 640 running at 3.3 on stock cooler for a while and never got above 60 C at 100% load, but my case has great air flow.