Your question
Solved

Computer newbie looking to add a SSD

Last response: in Storage
July 28, 2010 12:01:18 AM

Specs:

Windows Vista 64Bit
Motherboard: ASUS P5Q Pro LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz (overclocked to 3.6 gHZ)
Video card: Radeon HD 4870 512 MB
Hard Drive: HITACHI Deskstar P7K500 HDP725050GLA360 (0A35415) 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
RAM: OCZ Reaper HPC Edition 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800

Don't know what parts of that are relevant. Anyways, relative computer newbie here, built my own computer a couple years back and was recommended to add a SSD (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...) to put my OS and some programs on.

Questions:

1. Will my motherboard/specs support it?
2. Can anyone explain RAID in relation to this hard drive? I hear this tossed around a lot, and I read the FAQ but I am still a bit confused...
3. Besides the hard drive, what additional cables and stuff do I need to buy?
4. How do I transfer the OS from my current hard drive to the new one?
5. What else besides the OS is usually placed on the solid state drive? Internet browser I would imagine... or do people put almost all of their programs on the drive and use the other hard drive just for raw data?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks :D 
a b G Storage
July 28, 2010 1:09:49 AM

1-Yes your motherboard will support it.
2-Don't know
3-The same data and power cables as for your sata drives.
4-Make an image of your drive using a utility such as Acronis True Image, not free about $50US. On special at the moment $29.99
http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage...
A free one is Macrium Reflect Free Edition Drive Image, but I havn't tried it.